A Conversation About Skins

Kobi and Sarah discuss their mutual love for the first two seasons of Skins. (UK you guys, we have good taste)

skins

To us there are few things that can be referenced to as the true definition of cool in this world. Baloo the bear being a sassmeister is one. The first two seasons of the TV goodness that is UK Skins is another. We love it so much; we had to discuss it like the avid fans that we are. (SPOILER ALERT WE WARNED YOU DON’T SEND US ANGRY EMAILS THANKS)

SARAH: Kobes hey

KOBI: hi m8

SARAH: Skins discussion?

KOBI: yesszz$$$ss

SARAH: Well. Welcome to the Skins fan girl pond. You only watched the first two series’ recently. Seasons I should say.

KOBI: I watched the first two series in about three days. Three days that changed my life. I tried to continue travelling the skins season 3 train; but the change of characters didn’t tingle my loins.

SARAH: No I couldn’t hop on that wagon either. The first cast was just so perfect.

KOBI: Season 3 just was not a bandwagon I was proud to leap onto. The cast was the most endearing part about the show. When they left, I jumped.

SARAH: I do admire your persistence. I absolutely refused to continue on.

KOBI: Although, in saying that I have tagged onto season 7. It is nice seeing Effy aged and yet; sassy as ever.

SARAH: I didn’t mind Effy. She was sassy, smart and defiant

KOBI: I think I like Effy more than I should. As the only original cast member left I have so many nostalgic feelz for her.

SARAH: Yeah that is true. I miss her older brother

KOBI: She was also silent. Which was powerful.

SARAH: That is very true.

KOBI: I miss her older brother, like he were my own brother.

SARAH: Oh Tones. I forgot about Effy being silent, that was her thang for a while. But I do feel like we went through so much with Tony. Tony was one of my favourite characters, not because I really liked him to start with, but I loved how complex he was

KOBI: I loved Tony from the word go. On one level he was a dick; but you knew there was something more there.

SARAH: Definitely. The episode that really hit it for me was the one where he chased after Effy

KOBI: It was in so many ways, one of my favourite episodes. I must admit though, I kind of rode through the two seasons waiting for him to give Michelle the flick.

SARAH:Ahhhh Michelle. I want to hate her but I can’t.

KOBI: Nope, I hate her. She is the one character I feel doesn’t really develop. My perception of her didn’t change. And I hated that.

SARAH: I disagree with you there mate. There’s one episode, the one where she and her mum move into a new house with her stepdad and the whole gang ends up going to the beach, with her new stepsister. It’s striking because at the beginning you see her hating her stepsister but then she reaches some kind of strange truce with her, where she says “you’re not really a bitch are you”. And her stepsister says something like no, just pretending. Michelle’s selfish. She’s self absorbed and I agree with you in saying that she’s not a great character but I think you see her develop quite subtly.

KOBI: I can definitely see where you are coming from. I suppose I was just waiting for a growth spurt that never came, in the case of Michelle. I think the wonderful thing about Skins was it took these stereotypes that exist in every social group. Then destroyed them, slowly. The characters are real and human. And each episode destroys a little something, or build something a little better. I think it makes you realize that everyone is fucked up.

SARAH:It was fantastic in doing that. The thing about Skins was that they didn’t censor or dumb down anything, like so much other media aimed at teenagers. It was just so refreshing the way that they handled themes like drug abuse and pregnancy without it seeming like a school councillor’s favourite pamphlet. Every character’s struggle and persona seemed so genuine, which made it so entirely appealing.

KOBI: It was real. They left an eating disorder almost unresolved; which was real. I think people could connect with these characters because they were imperfect, they were slobs, they were drunks, they screwed up; but they were human. And that’s what the media misses sometimes. People want to see what is real.

SARAH: Absolutely. It was the flaws that made the characters so loveable. The other thing I loved was the way that they seemed like a real group of teenagers. They swear and mess about to perfection. Nothing was censored. It felt like you were accepted into a new group of friends almost.

KOBI: They were filthy. It was a perfect construction of imperfections.

SARAH: Can we talk about how brilliant the soundtrack was?

KOBI: There is literally no aspect of this series that I hated.

SARAH: The soundtrack is something else though.

KOBI: outtaadiswurlldd

SARAH: I think the best example of this is in the funeral episode, where Tony and Sid have stolen a coffin and they are driving wildly while being chased by a Hearse. The song playing during this is Britney Spears’ Oops I Did It Again.I actually cried of tears of sadness and joy because of that scene.

KOBI: It made the song tasteful. Every time I hear that song now, I see that scene. And I am a wreck.

SARAH: That episode made me into a wreck. My sister had to give me reassuring pats.

KOBI: As someone who this year lost a friend (who was a similar age (and similar circumstance) to Chris) I think that episode struck something. They didn’t handle the death like your average teen drama. And the events in that episode (to me) brought home the realism that exists in Skins.

SARAH: I can only imagine. Everything about the show was so relatable. It was so tragic, but it felt real. It wasn’t condescending and it didn’t hide from pain.

KOBI: It was ok to be fucked up by tragedy and to let it ruin things. It showed that nothing is ever the same again. And yet, it was hopelessly hopeful.

SARAH: There was always hope tucked away in there. When things would turn to shit, you had to admire the characters’ resilience.

KOBI: I suppose they were a little like cockroaches in that respect.

SARAH: That’s the most beautiful analogy I’ve ever heard. On relating to it though, we were talking the other day about Cassie’s eating disorder.

KOBI: Cassie is a great character.

SARAH: She’s definitely one of my favourites. I think the way they handled her disorder was so brilliant, especially in scenes like the one where she’s showing Sid how she avoids actually eating at dinner by distracting the people around her.

KOBI:That was a great scene. I like the way it was never fully resolved.

SARAH: I liked that too. It was never handed to you in a neat little package.

KOBI: Which it shouldn’t have been. Eating disorders don’t come in a prepackaged box with instructions.

SARAH: No, I guess it was admirable that the writers chose to reflect that, instead of sticking with a safe Hollywood happy ending.

KOBI: Oh exactly. I like the way the writers never take the easy way out with any of the story lines. I like the fact that the average age of the writers in skin is 21.

SARAH: I did not know that!

KOBI: dat fact trueee.

SARAH: That’s amazing. I always did think that there was a sincerity there that would have been hard to fake.

KOBI: I think rather they make us feel like we are not alone.

SARAH: You said it.

2 thoughts on “A Conversation About Skins

  1. You guys, you have to watch Shameless. It’s so so so good! I mean I often want to slap the main characters and such, but they don’t sugarcoat, censor or anything, and it’s all very honest and real.

Leave a Reply

