It’s All About The Climb

Kobi , overcome with 2007 nostalgia sees how Miley Cyrus is tackling the whole growing up phenomena MILEY I am not going to lie to you readers; I like to pride myself on honesty. I am not ashamed to admit that there was a fleeting moment of my existence when I wanted to be Miley Cyrus (please note the use of the adjective fleeting).

Before you alter your (I imagine) already fairly low opinion of me, it was in 2007 and I was eleven. I think everything we think and do between the ages of eleven and fifteen should be shredded and forgotten. But I digress; when I was eleven, Miley Cyrus seemed to be tackling the phenomenon of growing up rather adequately. Her torrents of hair were just a Pantene advertisement waiting to happen, she understood that everybody has those days and she just generally reeked of maturity. Despite the whole Hannah Montana/ Miley Cyrus identity crisis, at the end of the day she was just bein Miley. She just seemed to have her shit together, you know?

My admiration for Miley faced a steady decline in high school and until this week I had all but forgotten how to hoedown throwdown with my favourite Cyrus. In an interview with Billboard Magazine she spoke of her upcoming album and single (We Can’t Stop) which was released this week.

My last record (2009’s EDM-inflected Can’t Be Tamed) I feel so disconnected from- I was 16 or 17 when I made it. When you are in your 20’s you don’t really know that person anymore. I want to start as a new artist. I consider my upcoming album my first really.”

 I read her interview and instantly commenced researching the most pain-free ways to kill myself. I don’t consider myself authority on what constitutes art. However, to me,  any art form is about making a raw carving of yourself. Miley’s records are basically a massive audible orgy of karaoke available for download. I know what you are thinking; that is not a ground breaking revelation. But I suppose the eleven year old part of me wants to take her seriously and I refuse t call her an artist when she isn’t creating anything. Her latest single We Can’t Stop was actually intended for Rihanna.

I was almost vaguely interested to hear her new song. Over the years she has released songs which at best make for some bad puns and drunken fun. When she released her Can’t Be Tamed record she went for the shock factor and seemed to forget that removing items of clothing doesn’t increase your validity as a musician.  For a fleeting moment I wanted to take her seriously. But I suppose I will just let the lyrics of We Can’t Stop do the talking…  

Forget the haters and remember somebody loves ya

And everyone in line in the bathroom
Trying to get a line in the bathroom:Miley, you have lyrically outdone yourself this time.

It upset me to hear that Miley was so willing to disregard her previous work as an artist. I think she fully missed the point of The Climb when she sang it. Anything we produce or create becomes part of the inevitable journey of everything; the evolution. As Miley once so eloquently sung, It’s all about the climb. I think my nostalgia for 07 Miley makes me want to take her seriously as a human being. And I have now become a statistic of those who have watched We Can’t Stop. I feel like I may have got eye herpes, as I watched a Draco Malfoy doppelganger thrusting around on a bed in a white crop top for about three minutes. Instead of trying to make the public see her as a fully grown ass woman, Miley needs to take her own advice and remember it is All About The Climb.

  • For those of you who are interested in the genre of her  upcoming album…

“We’ve been calling it count-step because it is like country, dubstep and a little trap…” Perhaps Miley will have the last laugh here #H8erz #Meyke #Meh #Faymouz. For more Miley H9: http://junkee.com/stop-trying-to-make-miley-cyrus-the-white-nicki-minaj-okay/12209

Leave a Reply

